American Viticulture Area (AVA)

An AVA is described as a grape-growing region distinguished by geographical features, the boundaries of which have been recognized as providing unique growing characteristics not found in a neighboring area. The greater Napa Valley consists of 15 sub-AVA’s, providing growers with access to a broad spectrum of varietals and the nuances that each area offers based on where they emanate from in the Valley.

B Cellars winery is located in the Calistoga AVA. By comparison from the southern end of the Valley, which is at 12 feet above sea, Calistoga only rises a mere 365 feet higher. The climate in Calistoga is the warmest in the Valley and therefore is most conducive to growing Cabernet Sauvignon, Zinfandel, Syrah, Petite Sirah and Petite Verdot.

Area Date created
Los Carneros AVA 1983-08-18
Howell Mountain AVA 1983-12-30
Wild Horse Valley AVA 1988-11-30
Stags Leap District AVA 1989-01-27
Mt. Veeder AVA 1990-02-20
Atlas Peak AVA 1992-01-22
Spring Mountain District AVA 1993-05-13
Oakville AVA 1993-07-02
Rutherford AVA 1993-07-02
St. Helena AVA 1995-09-11
Chiles Valley AVA 1999-02-17
Yountville AVA 1999-03-19
Diamond Mountain District AVA 2001-06-01
Oak Knoll District of Napa Valley AVA 2004-02-25
Calistoga AVA 2009-12-08

Coomsville AVA                                                2011-12-15



Back to Location